Skip to content

The Harrowers

May 4, 2011

My new story “The Harrowers” is up at Lightspeed. The magazine describes it as “a tale of shotguns, zombies, whiskey-drinking, and salvation,” which it is, but I can also personally guarantee a dystopian Asheville, North Carolina, several unhappy outlaws, and roughly a dozen bioengineered monster bears. Hopefully that all adds up to an enjoyable story. You should definitely check out the audio version, read by Stefan Rudnicki, because it’s the best and most badass reading I could have hoped for.

You can also pick up an ePub copy of this month’s issue, including a timely interview with the director of SETI, as well as fiction by Tessa Mellas, Alastair Reynolds, and Nancy Kress. (Side note: Beggars in Spain really got me into science fiction as a kid, so sharing a table of contents with Kress feels both humbling and bizarre.) The ebook should be available for the Kindle shortly, and I’ll post a link when it’s up. In the meantime, check out the story, and let me know what you think either here or over at Lightspeed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 10:52 pm

    Just hopped over from Lightspeed. Fantastic stuff. When I can write that well I’ll be happy indeed.

  2. Jim permalink
    May 18, 2011 6:18 pm

    Listened on Lightspeed… Excellent! Can’t wait to read more.

  3. Eric permalink*
    May 21, 2011 5:39 pm

    Thanks for the kind words!

  4. May 24, 2011 1:27 pm

    Ooo! I just made the connection that you’re the Eric Gregory coming on as editor at Bull Spec and author of ‘The Harrowers’. Stefan Rudnicki’s was great! Very enjoyable story!

  5. April 26, 2012 12:58 pm

    I just read this story and “The Sympathy” on lightspeed. Two of the best short stories I’ve read in ages! I wish there was a novel for each because I want to live in the worlds you created there.

Leave a Reply

