Skip to content

Huh.

September 12, 2010

I knew I was a crappy blogger, but Jesus. Been a while.

In my defense, since July I’ve moved to a new state and started an MFA program, so it’s not like I’ve been slacking. I hit a certain threshold of eventfulness where the thought of putting things down in pixels just starts to seem adorably futile. Of course, I compound the effect by procrastinating. I say: “Well, there’s no point in writing about the move, because I’m going to my first con next weekend, and I might as well wait and post about it all at once.” So I wait until the next week, and say, “Well, there’s no point in writing about both the move and all the awesome people I just met, because I’m starting my program in a couple of days, and I might as well wait and post about it all at once.” And then I start my program and meet even more awesome people and get down to the business of actually, you know, writing, and the thought of doing all this moving-and-meeting any blogular justice becomes sort of exhausting.

At any rate: I moved. Maybe I’ll post some pictures later.

In the writing department, “Miguel and the Viatura” is part of Torque Control’s now-annual Short Story Club, and they’ll have an open discussion about it on October 10. There are thirteen stories total, all available for free online, including work by Vandana Singh, Peter Watts, KJ Bishop, and Hannu Rajaniemi. Discussions kick off every Sunday–this week’s story is Margaret Ronald’s “A Serpent in the Gears.” I thought last year’s Club was valuable as both a selection of recent short fiction and an in-depth discussion of how each piece works (or doesn’t), and I’m honored to have “Miguel” in the lineup this time around.

Finally: I started, God help me, a zombie story. See how it goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 11:51 pm

    Whoa. If you’re at the NCSU MFA program, that makes it quite the incoming class in terms of speculative fiction. (Kij Johnson is the other I know of.)

  2. Eric permalink*
    September 13, 2010 12:02 am

    Heh, yeah, Kij and I actually share a cubicle — we’ve half-joked that we’re going to put up a bunch of Star Wars posters to inaugurate it as a proper geek-space. (We’ve already got a BullSpec poster!) I don’t know if you’ve met Will Badger, but he’s in his second year, working on a fantasy novel. Several more folks in my cohort are interested in branching out into more speculative fiction now that they’ve realized the program’s so open to it.

Leave a Reply

