Skip to content

Permanent Collection

June 18, 2010

This week’s Mind Meld at SF Signal asked folks to name single-author collections that “should be in every fan’s library.” It just so happens that I’m slowly, slowly clearing out my office for the move to Raleigh in July, and among other things, this has meant going through books and sorting them into stacks:

1) Sell or donate
2) Take to Raleigh
3) Put in storage
4) Keep on shelf because I pick it up so often

On my short fiction shelf, the fourth pile looks like this:

Books

Go ahead and mentally add Paolo Bacigalupi’s Pump Six and Kelly Link’s Pretty Monsters to the pile (I keep them at home). There’s plenty more short fiction that I absolutely adore, but this is the stuff that’s so dear and important and brilliant that I want it ready to hand, that I don’t want to box it even for two weeks. These are the books that should be in my library at all times.

(Fun fact that didn’t occur to me until I took the picture: four of those five are or will be published by Small Beer Press.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 10:24 pm

    Something a little bit older: Terry Bisson’s “Bears Discover Fire and other stories” collection is absolutely amazing.

    • Eric permalink*
      September 12, 2010 10:31 pm

      I don’t know how I’ve managed to go this long without buying that collection. “Bears Discover Fire” and Nancy Kress’s “Beggars in Spain” were what got me into SF as a kid.

  2. September 12, 2010 10:35 pm

    I’ll have to check out “Beggars in Spain”…

    • Eric permalink*
      September 12, 2010 10:48 pm

      It started out as a novella, and she later expanded it into a novel (and eventually a series). I dearly love the novel, but there’s a beautiful elegance and economy to the novella that’s pretty tough to beat.

Leave a Reply

